Provinces of Pakistan | Detail of Provinces

Provinces of Pakistan

Last Updated on May 3, 2024 by Saddam Hassan Khan

A brief overview of Pakistan

Pakistan is located in southern Asia, bordering the Arabian Sea, between India on the east and Afghanistan and Iran on the west. The total area of Pakistan is about 803,940 sq km (309,745 sq mi), making it slightly less than twice the size of California. The population of Pakistan was estimated at 176,740,000 in mid-2005. Urdu and English are both official languages. Roughly 95% of the population is Muslim. Pakistan has been a founding member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC). It is also a founder member of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, an economic cooperation organization formed in 1985.

The Punjab Province: The most populous and agriculturally rich province

The Punjab Province is the most populous and agriculturally rich province of Pakistan. It is located in the north-western part of the country and has an area of 205,344 square kilometers. The provincial capital is Lahore. The Punjab Province is home to over 100 million people, making it one of the most populous provinces in the world. The province is also known for its rich agriculture, with fertile land and a temperate climate. The Punjab Province accounts for more than half of Pakistan’s GDP.

Sindh Province: Home to Karachi, the largest city in Pakistan

The Sindh Province The most agriculturally rich province The Sindh Province is the most agriculturally rich province of Pakistan. It is located in the southwest of the country and has an area of 203,180 square kilometers. The provincial capital is Karachi.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province: The most rural and mountainous province

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province is the most rural and mountainous province in Pakistan. It is home to many of the country’s most rugged and isolated mountain ranges. The province is also home to the historic Khyber Pass, which has served as a key trade route between South Asia and Central Asia for centuries. The province is divided into three regions: the northern mountains, the central plains, and the southern deserts. The provincial capital is Peshawar, which is located in the central plains region.

Balochistan Province: The largest and least populated province

Balochistan is the largest and least populated province in Pakistan. The province has a population of about 12 million and covers an area of 347,190 square kilometers. Balochistan is home to a wide variety of cultures and languages. The provincial capital is Quetta, and the largest city is Karachi.

Federally Administered Tribal Areas: A semi-autonomous region near the Afghan border

Pakistan is divided into four provinces and one federally administered tribal area. The federally administered tribal area, also known as the FATA, is a semi-autonomous region located near the Afghan border. The FATA is home to several militant groups, including the Taliban and al Qaeda. The region has been plagued by violence and instability for years. In recent years, the Pakistani government has been working to bring stability to the FATA.

Gilgit Baltistan

Previous articleHow to use Blog commenting to increase Traffic
Next articleFacebook Business Manager | Benefits, Settings
Saddam Hassan Khan
Saddam Hassan Khan is a Tech writer specializing in the intersection of tech. His Hobbies are Photography and Travelling


  1. […] Pakistan is a federal republic with five provinces: Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, and Gilgit-Baltistan. The largest and most populous province is Punjab, followed by Sindh. The provincial governments are led by a chief minister and a cabinet of ministers. Each province has its own assembly and government. The provincial government is responsible for administering all public services, such as education and health care. Provincial governments are elected through a system of direct and indirect elections. In general, the provincial governments are controlled by political parties. […]

Comments are closed.